Back To Home Page

Who

Dr. Chuck ThurstonBrief Curriculum Vita
4/1/2007
 Charles J. Thurston, MD,
13316 Marietta Rd, Kingston, Ohio 45644 (740) 655-3104, 655-2626, 701-1437 cell chuck@evidences.net & www.doozy.tv
LICENSES:
American Board of Emergency Medicine Certification #850959
Certified June 3, 1988, Re-Certified May 24, 2000 valid to December 31, 2010
Current Medical licenses include; Ohio 043126 (since 2/15/1979 exp. 10/2007),
Inactive licenses include; Virginia 0101037797 (since 2/7/1985, exp. 1990). Texas F6138 (since 12/12/1979, exp. 1990), Wisconsin 24276 (since 1981, exp. 1992) California G-74155 (since 5/26/1992 exp. 1995) No disciplinary or malpractice history in any state or foreign country or any hospital.
Advanced Trauma Life Support (x 4) (exp. 11/2007), Advanced Cardiac Life Support (x 6) (exp.8/2008), A.C.L.S. Instructor, Pediatric Advanced Life Support (exp. 8/2008)

Born May 10, 1952 Portsmouth Naval Hospital, Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Raised in Mansfield and Columbus, Ohio
Pleasant View High School, Grove City, Ohio in June, 1970
Riverside Methodist Hospitals, Columbus, Ohio, ER Nursing Assistant 1973-74
Ohio State University, Bachelor of Arts in Zoology June, 1974
Ohio State University, 941 Chatham, Columbus, Ohio 43221 (614) 292-0099
Medical College of Ohio at Toledo, M.D. 1978
MCO, 3000 Arlington Av., Toledo, Ohio 43614 (419) 383-4000
Toledo Riverside-MCO. 1st  year Family Practice Residency 1978-1979
1600 Superior Street, Toledo, Ohio 43604 (419) 729-6000

Belleview Hospital, 811 N. West St., Belleview, Ohio 44811 (419) 483-4040 April-October 1979 National Emergency Services moonlighting during my residency [Belleview has retained no records for 1979]

H.B. Magruder Memorial Hospital, Port Clinton, Ohio, (419) 734-3131 N.E.S. August 1979 moonlighting awaiting U.S.P.H.S. & intermittent service through November 1984

Big Bend Memorial Hospital, P.O. Box 180, Alpine, Texas 79830 (915) 837-3447
General attending medical staff 10/1979-10/1981 United States Public Health Service, Commissioned Corps Officer, Stationed at Marfa, Texas, a free-standing office & the only practicing physician for 10,000 patients in Presidio County, Texas

Private Practice & Emergency Medicine in Iola and Shawano, Wisconsin 1/30/1982 to 1/1/1983, concluding U.S.P.H.S. duty:
The Iola Hospital, P.O. Box 237, Iola, Wisconsin 54945 [now permanently
closed] General attending medical staff 10/1981-12/1982 private practice U.S.P.H.S.

Shawano Community Hospital, Shawano, Wisconsin 54166 (715) 526-2111 Central States Emergency Physicians U.S.P.H.S. 1981-1982

St. Nicholas Hospital, Sheboygan, Wisconsin (414) 459-8300 N.E.S. & U.S.P.H.S. 7/1982-7/1984 part time locums

Private Practice & Emergency Medicine in Ohio multiple sites for NES. 1983-1986 & 1988-2004:

Pike Community Hospital, Dawn Ln., Waverly, Ohio 45610 (740) 947-2186 N.E.S.
10/1983-5/1985 full & part time emergency medicine (dept. director)

Lancaster Fairfield Community Hospital, 401 N. Ewing St. Lancaster, Ohio(740) 687-8000   2/1985-6/1985 part time emergency medicine Emergency Physicians of Lancaster

Norfolk General & Leigh Memorial Hospitals, [now Sentera Hospitals], 600 Gresham Dr. Norfolk, Virginia, 6/1986- 9/1987 Emergency Physicians of Tidewater (757) 481-3581, (628-3551 Norfolk General, 466-6800 Leigh Memorial) Emergency Medicine as an attending physician supervising and teaching students from Eastern Virginia Medical School, interns and residents in their Emergency Medicine residency program, worked with the Nightingale Helicopter system.

Doctors Hospitals (North & West) Columbus, Ohio (614) 297-5676/4074, 10/1987-8/1990 full time Emergency Medicine with Richard Essler, DO at Physicians Emergency Medical Service and then Immediate Health Associates under Edward Boudreau, DO (614) 794-0481

Fayette County Memorial Hospital, 1430 Columbus Ave., Washington Court House, Ohio 43160, (740) 335-1210 Emergency Medicine Through (M.E.F.) Michael E. Failor Inc. 8/1990 to 7/1991

Deaconess Hospital Emergency Department Independent Contract 11/1/1991-1/5/2000,   311 Straight Street, Cincinnati, Ohio 45219, (513) 559-2236, Jeffery Stuckert, MD current Director

Selby General Hospital 4/2000-9/2003 1106 Colgate Dr. Marietta, Ohio 45750 (740) 568-2000, Roger Anderson, MD, Current E.D. Director (at extension 2260)

Private Practice & Second Opinion Consulting 11/1997-Present

ABX Air Healthcare Center from 11/2004 to March 1, 2005. 1261 Airport Rd. (Building #2), Wilmington, Ohio 45177 for Hummer Whole Health Management, 20600 Chagrin Blvd., Suite 1000, Cleveland, OH 44122-5334, (216) 921-8601
Contact is Alan Khoury, MD for references. akhoury@wholehealthnet.com

Chillicothe Correctional Institution Infirmary March 1, 2006 to June 7, 2006 Chief Medical Officer, with Incarcercare, Inc. James McWeeney, MD, CEO,
I am presently the CEO of 1st & 2nd Medical-Opinions, the medical consulting offshoot of Evidences Institute of Biblical Studies, a 501c 3 non-profit organization we founded in 1997. 1st & 2nd Medical-Opinions' mission is to reconcile dissatisfied and frustrated patients and doctors by taking a longer and more detailed look at individual cases and their medical and ethical issues as they relate to traditional a Judeo-Christian Biblical world view. We are actively engaged in malpractice prevention before the fact. The offices are housed in a 19th Century Inn at 13316 Marietta Rd. Kingston, Ohio 45644. For more information see www.doozy.tv, www.evidences.net. www.medical-opinions.com.

Curriculum to the Present (1/2/2007)

Therese and I have been married for 33 years. We have lived in Ross County, Ohio for 23 years on our family farm that doubles as "Mission Field" Airport. We have two grown sons, David, 23 in political science at Ohio University, and Andrew, 21 in film school in California. We have hosted a live call-in radio program on WRFD from 1999 to 2005. The radio format is transforming into a live theater radio program, "It's A Doozy" on www.doozy.tv. We have appeared on PAX TV's "Encounters with the Unexplained" and do extensive public speaking and entertaining. We attend Salem Community Church.
I co-authored a programmed-learning text, "Cancer Terminology for Medical Students" that was used at MCO. I have written two other books, "The Fossils of Time, Space & Matter" and "Aleph-Bet Soup, Decoding the Language of The Book". The latter has been published and is available at www.amazon.com, &  www.evidences.net.
I have nearly thirty years and more than 60,000 hours of experience in Emergency Medicine as a physician (not including my years as a nursing assistant at Riverside Emergency Department in Columbus, Ohio).   My private and military practice also included house-call and obstetrics activity including home deliveries as well as inpatient care in some of the most isolated and remote locations in North America.   I have also served regularly in busy trauma centers such as Norfolk General and Doctors Hospitals.
I am currently employed, as a free-lance independent emergency medicine contractor through various groups and companies. My private practice of medicine has been transformed into a second opinion consulting service with multiple short-term medical missions to Haiti, Belize, Honduras, Mexico, Guatemala, and archeological expeditions to Israel & Jordan. I am a multi-engine, instrument-rated pilot with 4000 hours of pilot-in-command flight time. I used the airport and airplanes in the course of many temporary medical clinic, ER and office assignments in the 1980's and 1990's as a troubleshooter for five companies in five states.

 

 

1st & 2nd Medical Opinions
13316 Marrietta Rd.
Kingston, OH 45644 (Hallsville)
Calls accepted 740-701-1437 Monday through Friday 10:00 A.M. to 4 P.M.

Website design by Green & Associates
© Copyright 2008, 1st & 2nd Medical Opinions.
All rights reserved